Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Pawns Chess Pieces In Some Sizes

A chess set consists of 32 chess pieces, including 16 pawns, 4 Rooks, 4 Knights, 4 Bishops, 2 Queens and 2 Kings. In chess rule, each pieces have their own move.
- Though the king is not nearly as powerful as one might expect from its title – only able to move one square at a time in any direction, and not where it is threatened by check, its position is vital to the game, and if not successfully defended all is lost.
- Queen can move an unlimited number of squares in any direction.
- The direction the Bishop moves is diagonal.
- The directional movement of the Knight is based on the letter L.
- The Rook can move in a straight line along any column or row as long as there is no barrier.

The Pawn is the least powerful of all chess pieces, but very important in combination with other Pawns for defense, as well as for advancing into one’s opponent’s territory. The Pawn’s direction is usually straight ahead one square per turn. But from its original position, it may be moved forward either one or two squares as long as there is no obstructing piece. Pawns cannot move backward. The Pawn can capture another piece by moving forward one diagonal space, but cannot take the piece directly in front of it.

For more info, please visit


Wooden Giant Chess by Chess Manufacturer